Skip to main content Download External Link Facebook Facebook Twitter Instagram Twitch Youtube Youtube Left Arrow Right Arrow Search Lock Wreath icon-no-eye caret-down Add to Calendar download Arena copyText Info Close

Players Tour Finals Survival Guide

July 27, 2020
Wizards of the Coast

The first weekend of the Players Tour Finals is in the books, but the event is far from over. With eight incredible players vying for the lion's share of a $250,000 prize pool, the Top 8 will be streaming live and played online through MTG Arena for the world to watch.

You don't want to miss a minute of the playoff action.

Where Can I Follow the Event?

The Players Tour Finals Top 8 playoff will be streamed live, with a Top 8 bracket reveal on Friday, July 31 and gameplay on Saturday August 1 at twitch.tv/magic.

For the metagame, decklists, Top 8 player profiles and more the Players Tour Finals event page on Magic.gg is where to start. Plus, you can enjoy broadcast clips and more exclusive content available by following @MagicEsports on Twitter. You can also share your excitement—and sweet Twitch clips—throughout the Players Tour Finals with the hashtag #PTFinals.

Who Is Playing?



The Top 8 competitors of the Players Tour Finals are:

  • Patrick Fernandes
  • Michael Jacob
  • Riku Kumagai
  • Christoffer Larsen
  • Raphaël Lévy
  • Kristof Prinz
  • Ben Weitz
  • Allen Wu

Where Are All The Decklists?

The complete metagame analysis and every decklist is available now on the Players Tour Finals event page.

These are the Top 8 decklists:

The Top 8 metagame breakdown analysis by Magic Hall of Famer Frank Karsten will be published on Thursday, July 30.

Who Are the Casters?



How Much Money Is on the Line?

The Players Tour Finals features a $250,00 prize pool. Here's how it breaks down for the entire field:

Place Prize
1 $10,000
2 $8,000
3 $7,000
4 $6,000
5-8 $5,000
9-12 $4,000
13-16 $3,000
17-24 $2,500
25-32 $2,000
33-76 $1,500
77-145 $1,000
Total* $250,000

(*Assumes 145 total players.)

Additionally, the Top 16 players from the Players Tour Finals receive invitations to the 2020 Season Grand Finals—an exclusive 32-player event later this year with a $250,000 prize pool.

Do Players Get Anything Else?

Players Tour Finals participants will receive a package of Players Tour Finals gear provided by Magic Esports, including an exclusive playmat featuring the art of Release the Dogs from Jumpstart:

  • Magic: The Gathering branded backpack
  • Players Tour Finals backpack patch
  • Release the Dogs playmat
  • Magic: The Gathering branded notepad
  • Magic: The Gathering branded silver and black permanent markers


What Is the Format?

The Top 8 playoff continues with the Core Set 2021 Standard Constructed format as players face off through double elimination with their decks from Swiss rounds.

Day Three: Top 8 Double Elimination Playoff



  • Top 8 is seeded at random into the bracket, which will be revealed during a live stream at twitch.tv/magic on Friday, July 31 at 12 p.m. PDT.
  • All matches are a best two-out-of-three games, except the Grand Finals which will be a best two-out-of-three matches.

Broadcast Schedule

Friday, July 31: 12 p.m. PDT / 9 p.m. CEST / 4 a.m. JST (August 1)

  • Broadcast ends after Top 8 bracket reveal and playoff analysis.

Saturday, August 1: 9 a.m. PDT / 6 p.m. CEST / 1 a.m. JST (August 2)

  • Broadcast ends after the Players Tour Finals Top 8 playoff is complete.

You can watch the entire Players Tour Finals on twitch.tv/magic.

Can I Co-Stream the Event?

Following Twitch's Content Sharing Guidelines, you can co-stream the Players Tour Finals broadcast from twitch.tv/magic using OBS or XSplit. This allows anyone on Twitch to cover the event in their voice and with their community. To be clear, co-streamed content is not endorsed by Wizards, and we expect anyone who participates in co-streaming to follow Wizards' Fan Content Policy.

Share Article